Russian 

 Society

 • 
 •  Education
 •  Health care
 •  Culture
 •  Religion
 •  Sports
 •  Cossacks

History of Kalmykia

The Kalmyks (own name, the Khalmag) are the descendants of Oyrats originating from West Mongolia (Jungaria). These were nomadic tribes kindred to Mongols in material culture, language and religion. In the 13th century Oyrats made a part of the Chinghis Khan's state. After the collapse of the Mongolian Empire Oyrat rulers joined the fight for domination against the East Mongolian khans. By the middle of 14th century Esen Khan managed to unite all the original Mongolian lands under his power. He also defeated the war expedition of Min China and captured the emperor. It resulted in a favorable peace treaty. However, Esen's followers did not succeed in keeping the power in Mongolia.

In the late 16th and early 17th centuries the deficit of pasture lands and feudal internecine dissension made the rulers of large Oyrat tribal unions of Torgouts leaded by Taisha Ho Urluk and Derbets leaded by Dalai Batyr to migrate to the steppes of the Western Siberia. After the Yermak Expedition these territories came under control of Russia. In 1608 and 1609 Oyrats gave oath of allegiance to the Russian Czar. Later on this part of Oyrats named by Russian Kalmyks after the Turkic speaking neighbors settled in the territory circumscribed by the rivers Emba, Yaik (Ural) and Volga. In the second half of 17th century they formed the Kalmyk Khanate in the Lower Volga and laid foundation for the new Mongolian speaking ethnic group, Kalmyks.


Married woman
By becoming the part of Russia and keeping the oath to protect its Southeast borders Kalmyks managed to preserve their state.

Kalmyks took active part in all the Russian war campaigns in 17th and 18th centuries providing up to 40 thousands of filly equipped horsemen.

The Kalmyk Khanate reached its flourishing in the period of Ayuka Khan (1669 -1724). Ayuka Khan was kept his responsibility to protect the Southern borders of Russia, ran many military expeditions against Crimean Tatars and Kuban Tatars. He also waged wars against Kazakhs, subjugated the Mangyshlak Turkmens, and made multiple expeditions against the highlanders of North Caucasus.

In 1771 the oppression of czarist administration forced the larger part of Kalmyks (33 thousands households or approximately 170 thousands men) to migrate to the original territories. The Kalmyk Khanate ceased its existence. The remaining Kalmyks were subjected to the imperial system of governing foreigners. The most part of them resided in the Kalmyk steppe. Some groups of Kalmyks formed parts of Ural, Orenburg and Terek Cossack formations. In the late 18th century the Kalmyks settled on Don River were inclided in the Cossack class of the Don Host.

As foreigners with another religious affiliation Kalmyks were not subject to the military service, but in the Patriotic War of 1812 they formed 3 regiments (The First and Second Kalmyk and Stavropolsky Kalmyk regiments) that fought their way to Paris. Kalmyks of Don fought in the Cossack units under command the legendary Chief Platov.

Long habitation of the people in the environment with another way of life, differing religion lead to the serious changes in the Kalmyk society. The mandatory feudal statuses of classes were abolished 1892. Many changes followed colonization of Kalmyk steppe by the Russian settlers.

In spite of that the spiritual culture of Kalmyks remained quite stable. It made possible the preservation of a specific region in the European territory with its original Eastern culture, unique folklore, written culture and music. In the beginning of 20th century the World discovered the pearl of Kalmyk folklore, the Jangar epic.

The February Revolution of 1917 formed the Steppe area of Kalmyk People. In 1920 it was transformed into the Kalmyk Autonomous Region. In 1935 the Kalmyk Autonomous Region was reorganized into the Kalmyk Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic.

During the World War II in the Summer 1942 the most part of Kalmykia was occupied by the nazi troops but by the January next year the Soviet army liberated the territory of the republic. The Kalmyks fought with fortitude in the battle-front of war and in the partisan resistance in the steppes of Kalmykia, in Belorussia, Ukraine, Bryansk woods, etc. In the battles for Don area and North Caucasus distinguished was the 110 Detached Kalmyk Chivalry Division. Approximately 8 thousand of Kalmykia natives were awarded by various orders and medals, 21 men were awarded the title of the Hero of Soviet Union.

In December 1943 the Kalmyk people were unjustly deported to Siberia. The Kalmyk Autonomous Republic was abolished.


Monument to the victims of political repressions
Inhuman life and labor conditions took away lives of many Kalmyks. The years of exile are still in the memory of the Kalmyk people as the time of sorrow and grief.

The justice was restored only in 1957 and the Kalmyks returned to the homeland. First it was the Kalmyk Autonomous Region that in 1959 was transformed into the Autonomous Republic.

Industry, agriculture, science and education, culture and arts stated an intensive development in the republic.

In 1993 the first presidential elections in the Republic of Kalmykia were won by Kirsan Ilyumzhinov. The program of the Republic's President K. Ilyumzhinov focused on the improvement of the social and economic situation, life standards in the republic, revival of Kalmyk language.

English 

 Общество

 " 
 "  Образование
 "  Здравоохранение
 "  Культура
 "  Религия
 "  Спорт
 "  Казачество

История Калмыкии

Калмыки (самоназвание - хальмг) - потомки ойратов, живших в западной Монголии (Джунгарии). Это были племена кочевников, родственные монголам по своему образу жизни, языку, культуре и религии. В XIII веке ойраты вошли в состав государства Чингис-хана. После распада Великой Монгольской империи ойратские правители стали бороться за господство в Монголии с восточно-монгольскими ханами. В середине XIV века ойратскому Эсен-хану удалось объединить под своей властью всю Монголию. Эсен-хан также разгромил войска минского Китая и взял в плен императора, после чего с Китаем был заключен выгодный мирный договор. Однако потомкам Эсена не удалось удержать в своих руках власть над Монголией.

В конце XVI-начале XVII вв. дефицит пастбищных территорий, феодальные междоусобицы побудили правителей крупных ойратских этнополитических объединений торгутов во главе с тайшой Хо-Урлюком и дербетов во главе с Далай-Батыром откочевать в степи Западной Сибири, которая после похода Ермака оказалась в составе России. В 1608, 1609 гг. они в первый раз принесли присягу на подданство русскому царю. В дальнейшем эта часть ойратов, которых русские по примеру их тюркоязычных соседей называли калмыками, расселилась по территории междуречья Эмбы, Яика (Урала) и Волги. Во второй половине XVII века в Нижнем Поволжье образовалось Калмыцкое ханство и начала складываться самостоятельная монголоязычная народность - калмыки.


Замужняя калмычка
Добровольно войдя в состав России и защищая ее юго-восточные границы, калмыки смогли сохранить свою государственность.

Калмыки активно принимали участие во всех войнах, которые вела Россия во 2-й пол. XVII-XVIII вв., выставляя до 40 тысяч конных воинов для походов.

Наибольшего могущества Калмыцкое ханство добилось при правлении Аюки-хана (годы правления 1669 -1724). Аюка-хан надежно защищал южные рубежи России, неоднократно совершал походы против крымских и кубанских татар. В 1697 г. Петр I, уезжая за границу в составе великого посольства, поручил Аюке-хану охранять южные русские границы. Кроме того, Аюка-хан вел войны с казахами, покорил мангышлакских туркмен, совершал неоднократно победоносные походы против горцев Северного Кавказа.

В 1771 году из-за притеснений царской администрации большая " часть калмыков (около 33 тыс. кибиток иле около 170 тысяч человек) -откочевала в Китай. Калмыцкое ханство прекратило свое существование. Оставшиеся калмыки были включены в имперскую систему управления инородцами. Основная часть их проживала в Калмыцкой степи. Небольшие группы калмыков входили в состав Уральского, Оренбургского и Терского казачьих войск. В конце XVIII века калмыки, жившие на Дону, были зачислены в казачье сословие Области войска Донского.

Как инородцы и иноверцы калмыки не призывались на регулярную службу, но в Отечественной войне 1812 года они сформировали три полка (Первый и второй калмыцкие и Ставропольский калмыцкий), которые с боями дошли до Парижа. Калмыки-казаки Дона сражались в казачьих подразделениях под командованием легендарного атамана Платова.

Длительное проживание народа в среде с иным образом жизни и отличающейся религией привели к серьезным изменениям калмыцкого общества. В 1892 г. были отменены обязательные отношения крестьян и феодалов. Значительные изменения вызвала и колонизация Калмыцкой степи русскими поселенцами.

Несмотря на это, духовная культура калмыков оказалась достаточно устойчивой. Так на территории Европы сохранился анклав с оригинальной восточной культурой, со своим уникальным фольклором, письменностью, литературой и музыкой. В начале XX в. мировая общественность познакомилась с жемчужиной калмыцкого фольклора -эпосом "Джангар".

После Февральской революции 1917 года была образована "Степная область калмыцкого народа". В 1920 г. была образована Калмыцкая Автономная область. В 1935 году Калмыцкая Автономная область была преобразована в Калмыцкую Автономную Советскую Социалистическую Республику (КАССР).

В период Великой Отечественной войны 1941-1945 гг. летом 1942 года значительная часть Калмыкии была оккупирована немецкими войсками, но уже к январю следующего года Советская Армия освободила территорию республики. Воины Калмыкии мужественно сражались на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны и в партизанских отрядах в степях Калмыкии, в Белоруссии, на Украине, Брянщине и др. В боях за Дон и Северный Кавказ отличилась 110-я Отдельная Калмыцкая кавалерийская дивизия. Около 8 тысяч уроженцев Калмыкии были награждены орденами и медалями, 21 человек удостоены звания Героев Советского Союза.

В декабре 1943 г. калмыцкий народ был незаконно депортирован в Сибирь. КАССР была упразднена.


У монумента жертвам репрессий
Нечеловеческие условия жизни и труда унесли жизни многих представителей калмыцкого народа, а годы ссылки до сих пор остались в памяти калмыков временем печали и скорби.

Только в 1957 году справедливость была восстановлена и калмыки вернулись на родину. Была создана Калмыцкая автономная область, преобразованная в 1959 году в КАССР.

В республике интенсивно стали развиваться промышленность, сельское хозяйство, наука и образование, культура и искусство.

В 1993 г. в Республике Калмыкия были проведены президентские выборы и первым Президентом РК стал Кирсан Илюмжинов. Программа Президента Республики Калмыкия К.Н.Илюмжинова направлена на улучшение социально-экономического положения республики, повышение жизненного уровня населения, возрождение калмыцкого языка.